From the Goldrun Junction towards Wall Street

I went on a hike up Fourmile Canyon, past the junction with Gold Run, towards Wall Street. I was impressed both by the natural destruction, and also by the human energy going into recovery. I’ll show some photos in this post, and I’ll try to give location info. This post won’t be as detailed as the previous few, though, as my GPS enabled camera broke, so I borrowed my girlfriend’s old SLR.

Also, I don’t want to be too invasive or voyeuristic, so I won’t post many photos of houses. I do have lots of these photos, so if you live up there and want to see conditions, email me at Scottbennett08@gmail.com

First, though, a bear:

Our front porch.

Our front porch.

Though we’ve frequently seen bears in our yard, I’d never seen them on our porch until the past week. This one has been hanging around and getting nosy. Our neighbor, who works for OSMP, speculates that they’re stressed because they’re trying to put on fat for the winter. Berries, which often grow low in drainages, have been severely damaged, so we’re likely to see bears getting bolder and more creative. Everyone, both in the mountains and in town, needs to secure their homes and trash to prevent bears from becoming habituated to human food.

Here are a few photos:
_MG_5608

IMG_5616

This is about a half mile below the Fourmile/Goldrun Junction, at:
40° 2’50.22″N 105°22’2.18″W

You can see the last post for more photos of this area.

This worker is deepening the channel and building back up the roadbed. Impressive!

leaning house 1 P1050988

This house, tragically, seems to be a victim of the creek’s new path. These photos were taken 2.5 hours apart, at 1:30pm and 4pm on 9.18.13. As you can see the house is slowly being undercut.

A small example of the flood's power.

A small example of the flood’s power.

Just up Fourmile from the junction.

Just up Fourmile from the junction.

clay hiking

A typical example of the road. There are many small streams cutting across the roadbed, and in some spots we had to hike up and around flooded sections.

firehouse

The firestation seems untouched.

narrow road

A narrow section of road just upcanyon from the firestation.

xcel

This little ATV carried a 6 man Xcel team into Wall Street. The road is cut off both and up and down canyon, but they managed to get over from Gold Hill on an old mining road. They were hard at work righting fallen power poles and restoring electricity.

assay

The Assay office/museum seems untouched.

old mine

This old gold-refining structure has been there for over 100 years, so I guess it’s survived more than a few floods.

long road

propane

Propane tanks were frequent casualties, and I actually spoke with a resident who claims to have watched one explode during the flood. Cuidado!!

A big mudslide, right at 5574 Fourmile Canyon dr.

A big mudslide, right at 5574 Fourmile Canyon dr.

OK, that’s all for now. As I said, I know mountain folks value their privacy, so I didn’t post many photos of homes. I have some pictures from 5161, 5216, 5311 5853, email me at scottbennett08@gmail.com if you live there.

Road conditions: Fourmile Canyon drive is passable to high-clearance vehicles all the way to the Goldrun/Fourmile junction. It remains closed, though.

Past the junction, both Fourmile and Gold Run are impassable. I’ve heard that it’s possible to access Sunset from Gold Hill, via the Switzerland Trail. Once in the canyon, a high-clearance vehicle can supposedly make it downcanyon to mile marker 8.

This is all opinion and speculation, and conditions are changing daily. Use your own judgement and travel at your own risk.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From the Goldrun Junction towards Wall Street

  1. Dean says:

    Is there any word on the rebuilding of the bridge at Logan Mill Road? Or when Poorman to Logan Mill will be open? Your pictures are fantastic and much appreciated.

  2. Kathleen Gibson says:

    Thank you! Not only was your Gold Run Junction towards Wall Street extremely informative and you photos of excellent quality I appreciate your efforts to help keep those folks informed. I have experienced minor flooding in that area and suffered the effects of the Four Mile Fire with my neighbors in the entire burn area. Love the rest of your adventures also.

  3. Jami Tadda says:

    Thank you for these pictures. I am the granddaughter of Jim and Dee Bailey, the owners of the Wallstreet asset office. I and my family have been very concerned with the condition of the museum, as we still consider it our family home. We were up there in August and I am so glad that we got to see the homestead before this happened. However, if my grandparents were still alive and living there they would be serving coffee to the road crew and surviving. They lived many years without electricity or indoor plumbing so they would have been able to adapt to that, but the devastation would have broken their hearts. If you have other pictures of the museum, particularly the back, pictures of the old school house, or surrounding areas I would love to see them. Thank you again and my thoughts and prayers are with all the mountain folks.
    Jami

Leave a Reply

